Reviews

Don’t just take our word for it, here are the reviews from our guests:

Idyllic Setting with all home comforts

Reviewed November 2015

Villa Sundowner is in an ideal location within Jolly Harbour. If you don’t want to hire a golf buggy then it is within walking distance of the central shopping area and restaurants, albeit a hot walk some days!
The villa is very comfortable and well equipped and a welcome pack was provided on arrival. Although building work is taking place across the lagoon it doesn’t detract from the peaceful setting and it was lovely to breakfast on the patio every morning and watch the pelicans, humming birds etc and likewise in the evenings just watching the sunsets. However, do be prepared for the mosquitos!

Great Villa

March 2016

We have rented apartments and villas around the jolly beach area for the last 5 years! This is the best suited to our lifestyle! It has a well equipped kitchen as we like to eat in most of the time! The lounge is lovely and spacious ( a sofa each ). The balcony was more than enough when our friends came out to join us for a couple of weeks. Fantastic views from both sides of the house especially from the balcony watching the sun go down! Two bedrooms with plenty of storage and the ensuites were very spacious with good showers (which you don’t always get from past experience). The bonus being the use of the bikes (which are the owners) as we love cycling and exploring off the tourist areas! We would definately book this villa again the next time we go to antigua if the dates are available!

Great Place

February 2015

We had a great 3 weeks in the villa Xmas and new year.very clean good kitchen nice bathrooms,and a lovely deck ,and the best for us was the bikes which enabled us to travel to other beaches.

“Perfect holiday”

Reviewed September 2014

From our arrival in Antigua and being picked up at the airport and then delivered to our accommodation , being helped into our villa by joy and shown where everything was . The whole of our holiday in jolly harbour was perfect all the way through out our stay . Excellent villa on the waterfront ( very well equipped ) . Long sandy beaches and the clearest / bluest sea you will ever come across. As recommended we hired a buggy for some of our trip which was ideal for getting to the farthest points of jolly harbour and at other times we used the provided cycles to get around . We found lots of good restaurants locally , mostly recommended to us by the owner and all were excellent . Lastly we loved Antigua and it’s very friendly people and had a fantastic ten days in paradise . Ps we will return

“Casa comoda e ben attrezzata”

Reviewed June 2014

Casa molto comoda e ben attrezzata (anche di biciclette che abbiamo molto apprezzato), situata in una posizione per noi ideale

“Amazing Antigua”
4 of 5 starsReviewed March 2014

Stayed at this villa last week. It catered for our needs and although the supermarket was a good 15 minute walk, it was conveniently far enough away for privacy. The villa was bright and spacious with a beautiful view over the waterfront, we even had a resident pelican! Would recommend booking a buggy to get about the resort especially if you want to go shopping at the supermarket. They’re pretty reasonable at $20 per day and well worth it when shopping. Lots of restaurants on site and everyone so friendly especially Amy & Joy the managing agents and Tristam our transfer driver. Really lovely holiday and would recommend this resort. Lots of places to visit and St Johns so vibrant and buzzing, boat trips round the Island a must and if you’re into snorkelling it’s great. Definitely going back to Antigua at the end of the year as it truly was amazing.

Maria.

4 of 5 starsReviewed February 5, 2014 for a stay in January 2014
This was our second stay in a villa and we loved it. The use of the bikes was appreciated and enjoyed. We much prefer this style to vacationing in a resort.

Caterina

“Christmas Holiday”

4 of 5 starsReviewed January 6, 2014 for a stay in December 2013
My wife, 25 year old son, and I enjoyed a most comfortable and relaxing fortnight at Villa Sundowner over Christmas. The villa was very comfortable and had all the amenities. For us, the only downside was that we found the mattress on the double bed did not suit us and our backs ached by the morning. To be fair, that could just be us, though I don’t usually have that problem. However, I don’t wish to detract from an overall lovely stay. Having bicycles and racquets available was a very nice touch, and the villa was well situated, being close to two exquisite beaches, the golf course, restaurants and supermarkets. Villa Sunset was a pleasure to “go home to” during the fortnight we were there. We were well looked after by Typically Tropical Villas, who had a taxi waiting for us at the airport and who saw us into the villa with a useful briefing. When the taxi went to the wrong address for the return to the airport, Margot “rescued” it and personally made sure it got to us in plenty of time. We would certainly stay there again.

Rod

5 of 5 starsReviewed December 20, 2013 for a stay in November 2013

The villa was just as we had expected. We had rented a car and visited all the lovely restaurants on the Island. Lots of them on beaches. Wonderful holiday. Amy and margot were very helpful and friendly.

5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

This was our first visit to Antigua and we were met at the airport by a friendly taxi driver (arranged through the management company). We arrived at the villa to a warm welcome by Amy, a welcome pack and a gorgeous view out the back of the patio doors! The villa was perfect – tastefully furnished, clean, 2 en-suite bathrooms, WIFI (a massive bonus for the teenage girls!), a very accurate & useful guide book, lovely patio for our al fresco dining etc.
We had bikes made available to us, although we didn’t use them as we had a golf cart (and were too lazy!). The golf cart was brilliant to use around Jolly Harbour (beaches, supermarket, restaurants etc). North and South Finger beaches were spectacular – the best beaches I’ve been too! The locals were incredibly friendly, we made so many friends! Evenings out were great fun and mostly spent at Crows Nest, Castaways, Westpoint, etc – we even managed to get tickets to see Antigua vs Barbados @ The Viv Richards Cricket ground, a fantastic evening!
Plenty of day trips available – we went on a great boat trip (with a lovely lunch!) around the island and we stopped for snorkling. We also visited St Johns, a lovely place with a market, australian ice cream, local art etc (and some great duty free shopping!).  The local supermarket is well stocked – had everything we wanted. We cooked a lot at the villa and ate out at the various restaurants. Al Porto’s and Melini’s were probably our favourites.
We were very sad to come home after what was probably one of our best holidays. There was plenty we didn’t see/do so hopefully we will be back for another visit to Villa Sundowner next year!

My wife and I along with another couple stayed at the Villa Sundowner from April 5-12. In our search we were looking for beaches, attractions and safety. This place has it all and more.

The booking process was simple and easy. Shuna welcomes you and provides a brief tour of the villa. Then you are free to enjoy the rest of your stay.

The description and website are exactly what you get. It met all of our expectations and more while we stayed there. The Wi-Fi was a great addition, although we like to leave electronics off. Everything was well kept and we didn’t have any problems.

A few things I would recommend to incoming guests. Rent a golf buggy ($20/day) to get around. Riding the bikes everywhere in that heat would be exhausting. The golf buggy allowed you to explore all of Jolly Harbour.

Take the bus into St. John’s one day for about $1.50 US each way. Very affordable. We went to the market and visited the shops. A nice day trip to see more of Antigua.

I also recommend renting a car ($75 US) and visiting Nelson’s Dockyard, Shirley Heights, Betty’s Hope, Devils Bridge and a Half Moon Bay. These are great attractions and I recommend checking them out. Eli’s Eco-Tour was another excursion we went on and it was a blast.

Most nights we went out to the Crows Nest in Jolly Harbour for live music and drinks, while also trying Melinis, Castaways and Al Porto for the 2 for 1 pizzas.

If you are into fishing, I brought a travel fishing pole and caught about 15 fish from the porch. We caught Snapper, Jacks, Bullseye Puffer Fish and a crab! Another perk of being right on the water.

Overall, we had a great experience at the Villa Sundowner! If you are looking to get away from the crowds and enjoy a nice relaxing location, this is the place to be!